CicLAvia – Heart Of LA

Tuesday, October 17, 2023

CicLAvia events are always a blast but the Downtown Los Angeles ones are always my favorite. This Sunday was Heart of LA, about 8 miles of streets shut down just for walking, biking, and scooting.

Even though it was hot I decided to ride to the event from Pasadena. I did about 17 miles that day, which isn’t a ton but in the heat it was a lot. I started by checking out the leg that went straight through DTLA.

I really wanted to get to the new 6th Street bridge before the event ended so I started heading that way. The route took me through Little Tokyo and I wish this path was always closed to cars.

I was pretty tired as I got closer to the bridge but it was worth the push. The new bridge was so smooth and wide, it made for easy riding. The sides were packed with cyclists resting in the shade of the bridge. There are some really great views of Downtown from there too.

It wouldn’t be an LA event without seeing views of DTLA, the unhoused, and Dodger fans.

I had yet to check out the new Little Tokyo station so I decided to depart from there on the A Line. I also forgot the L Line had been changed to the A Line in this part of the track so I was a little confused at first. The new station is nice!